Conference: Kant and the Exact Sciences

Location: Notre Dame Conference Center - McKenna Hall

“Two things fill the mind with ever greater awe and wonder the more one reflects upon them: the starry skies above me, and the moral law within me.”

A Graduate Student Conference at the University of Notre Dame
September 23-24, 2011
Notre Dame Conference Center – McKenna Hall

Download the Call for Paper

The first day of the conference will be dedicated to Kant’s philosophy of logic and mathematics while the second day will be dedicated to Kant’s philosophy of physics. We welcome all submissions related to the following topics:

• How Kant’s predecessors (e.g., Descartes, Leibniz, Newton) influenced his views concerning logic, math, and physics
• Kant’s own thought concerning logic, math, and physics
• How Kant’s own philosophy can be used to better understand recent (last 100 years) developments in logic, math, and physics
Submissions must adhere to the following guidelines.
• Authors must be graduate students. Co-authored papers will be considered so long as all authors are currently graduate students. Authors may submit no more than one paper for consideration.
• Papers must not exceed 4000 words and must be suitable for a 25-30 minute presentation.
• Papers must be prepared for blind review: please remove any and all potentially identifying information, such as author’s name, institutional affiliation, and personal acknowledgements.
• Papers must be accompanied by a separate cover page (i.e., included as a distinct document). On the cover page, please include: a) paper title, b) author’s name, c) author’s institutional affiliation, d) author’s e-mail address, e) a word count, and f) a short abstract of no more than 150 words.
• Please submit papers and cover pages as distinct e-mail attachments to PDF file format is preferred, DOC, DOCX, and RTF file formats are also acceptable.
• Submissions have been extended to June 15, 2011.
• Accommodations and some meals will be provided for all invited speakers.

Keynote Speakers:
Lisa Shabel, Associate Professor of Philosophy, Ohio State University
Eric Watkins, Professor of Philosophy, University of California San Diego

Participating Faculty from the Department of Philosophy, University of Notre Dame:
Karl Ameriks, The McMahon-Hank Chair in Philosophy
Katherine Brading, William J. and Dorothy K. O’Neill Collegiate Professor of Philosophy
Curtis Franks, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Don Howard, Director, History & Philosophy of Science
Patricia Blanchette, Associate Professor of Philosophy

Sponsored by the Nanovic Institute for European Studies and the Graduate School at the University of Notre Dame.