About the Prize

Laura Shannon and Tara Zahra
Read more about Mrs. Laura Shannon
and the history of the book prize.

The Laura Shannon Prize in Contemporary European Studies

Carrying a prize of $10,000, the Laura Shannon Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best book in European studies that transcends a focus on any one country, state, or people to stimulate new ways of thinking about contemporary Europe as a whole.

Each year, the Laura Shannon Prize will be given for a book published in one of two alternating fields:

I. Humanities
Philosophy, Theology, Cultural Studies, Modern Languages and Literatures, and the Arts.

II. History & Social Sciences
History, Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Law, and Anthropology.


  • Nominations for the 2022 Humanities cycle are complete and now in adjudication.
  • Nominations for the 2023 History and Social Sciences cycle will open during the fall of 2021 and will be due February 15, 2022.
  • Nominations for the 2024 Humanities cycle are due by February 15, 2023.

Presses and authors may nominate books by completing and submitting the Laura Shannon Prize Nomination Form online. Then, submit two (2) non-returnable copies of the nominated work by the stated deadline to the following address. (Copies of the books do not need to arrive by the deadline as long as they arrive within a reasonable time thereafter.  Please contact the prize administrator for further details if you anticipate a delay.) Please note: Notre Dame faculty may recommend books for consideration by sending an email to the assistant director, Grant Osborn (gosborn@nd.edu).

Non-returnable copies of the nominated work for the Laura Shannon Prize must be submitted to:

The Laura Shannon Prize
The Nanovic Institute for European Studies
1060 Jenkins Nanovic Halls
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556-7000 USA

Rules and Eligibility

For the 2023 History and Social Sciences cycle, we will only accept books published in 2020 and 2021. Publication dates are determined by the date the book is published, not the copyright date printed in the book.

A nominated book shall qualify for the Laura Shannon Prize in Contemporary European Studies only if:

  • Only publications in English are eligible.
  • Books by current Notre Dame faculty members are not eligible for the Laura Shannon Prize.

  • Authors may only win the Laura Shannon Prize once.

  • Books on single countries will be considered so long as they have clear implications for thinking about Europe as a whole.

  • Translations, anthologies, textbooks, self-published books, memoirs, fiction, poetry, screenplays, performances, posthumous works, and books published in previous editions are ineligible. Critical editions are eligible.

  • Multiple-author works, but not edited collections, are eligible. If a multiple-author book wins, the Prize money will be distributed equally among the authors, unless the authors unanimously agree otherwise.  One author must visit Notre Dame to lecture and accept the Prize, as detailed below.

  • Publishers may nominate up to three (3) books per imprint for each year’s competition and may submit rationales, reviews, and other relevant information for each entry. Authors may nominate their own books. Each nomination should be submitted with a completed nomination form and two (2) non-returnable copies of the nominated work. Final proofs are acceptable. The nominating publisher or author also agrees to submit an additional four (4) books upon request if the nomination makes it to the short list in the review process.

  • The author is informed that, if selected, he or she must present an original lecture at the University of Notre Dame and participate in events related to the award ceremony. The Nanovic Institute will provide the author with travel and accommodations. The lecture may also be published by the Nanovic Institute for European Studies.

  • The publisher or author agrees to submit an author’s photograph and biography and an image of the book cover, with permission to use them in promotional materials, if the author’s book makes the final short-list of books for the Laura Shannon Prize.

  • The publisher and author agree that the decisions of the Nanovic Institute for European Studies will be final as to all matters, including eligibility, timeliness, and compliance with procedures and selection criteria.


The winning book is selected by a final jury of five eminent scholars in European studies, three of whom will be prominent scholars not serving at the University of Notre Dame (i.e., external). The jury will be announced along with the winner.

List of all jury members

Contact Us

For questions relating to the nomination process, please contact LSPrize@nd.edu.