Laura Shannon Prize

2024 Laura Shannon Prize goes to Blood of Others by Rory Finnin

One of the preeminent prizes in European studies, and carrying an award of $10,000, the Laura Shannon Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best book in European studies that transcends a focus on any one country, state, or people to stimulate new ways of thinking about contemporary Europe as a whole.


Each year, the Laura Shannon Prize in Contemporary European Studies is given to a book published in one of two alternating fields:


Philosophy, Theology, Cultural Studies, Modern Languages and Literatures, and the Arts.

History & Social Sciences

History, Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Law, Psychology, and Anthropology.

The winning book is selected by a jury of five eminent scholars in European studies, three of whom are prominent scholars serving at institutions other than the University of Notre Dame. The jury is announced along with the winning book and author. Prize-winners give major lectures at the University of Notre Dame, deepening the university community’s understanding of Europe.

Read the 2024 Press Release


To nominate a book, complete and submit the Laura Shannon Prize Nomination Form. Then, submit two (2) non-returnable copies of the nominated work by the stated deadline to the address below. Copies of the books do not need to arrive by the deadline as long as they arrive within a reasonable time thereafter. Please note: Notre Dame faculty may also recommend books for consideration.

  • Nominations for the 2025 History and Social Sciences cycle are now open and are due by March 1, 2024.
  • Nominations for the 2026 Humanities cycle will be announced at a later date.

Please contact the prize administrator by email if you anticipate any delay or if you have any other questions about the nomination process.

Non-returnable copies of the nominated work for the Laura Shannon Prize must be submitted to:

Laura Shannon Prize
Nanovic Institute for European Studies
1060 Nanovic Hall
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556-7000 USA

Nominate a Book

About Laura Shannon

Laura Shannon

Mrs. Laura Shannon (1939-2021) and her husband, Michael ’58, of Houston, Texas established the Laura Shannon Prize, which was first awarded in 2010. The Laura Shannon Prize is recognized internationally as one of the leading book prizes in the field of European studies. The prize forms a significant part of the Nanovic Institute’s mission, rewards and elevates scholarship, and connects a growing community of jurors, prize-winners, and members of the Notre Dame community invested in European studies.

Read More about Laura Shannon