The Juries

The winning book is selected by a jury of five eminent scholars in European studies, at least two of whom are prominent scholars serving at institutions other than the University of Notre Dame.


Pamela Ballinger
Professor of History and Fred Cuny Chair in the History of Human Rights
University of Michigan

Semion Lyandres
Professor of History
University of Notre Dame

A. James McAdams
William M. Scholl Professor of International Affairs
University of Notre Dame

Jan Palmowski
Secretary-General of the Guild of European Research-Intensive Universities and
Professor of Modern History
University of Warwick

Sonja Puntscher Riekmann
Professor Emerita of Political Theory and European Politics at the University of Salzburg and
Research Fellow at the Salzburg Centre of European Union Studies


Dudley Andrew
R. Selden Rose Professor of Film and Comparative Literature
Yale University

JoAnn DellaNeva
Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures
Academic Director of Notre Dame’s London Global Gateway
University of Notre Dame

Lydia Goehr
Professor of Philosophy
Columbia University

Michael Jennings
Class of 1900 Professor of Modern Languages and Professor of German
Princeton University

Declan Kiberd
Donald and Marilyn Keough Professor of Irish Studies
University of Notre Dame  


Ruth Abbey
Professor of Political Science
University of Notre Dame 

Jeffrey J. Anderson
Graf Goltz Professor and Director of the BMW Center for German and European Studies
Georgetown University 

Alexander Martin
Professor of History
University of Notre Dame

John Merriman
Charles Seymour Professor of History
Yale University

Susan G. Pedersen
Gouverneur Morris Professor of History
Columbia University   


James Chandler
Barbara E. & Richard J. Franke Distinguished Service Professor and Director of the Franke Institute for the Humanities
University of Chicago

William Collins Donahue
John J. Cavanaugh, C.S.C. Professor of the Humanities
University of Notre Dame

Dennis Doordan
Professor of Architecture and Design and Associate Dean of Research, Scholarship, and Creative Work in the School of Architecture
University of Notre Dame

Heather Dubrow
John D. Boyd, S.J. Chair in the Poetic Imagination
Fordham University

Mark Lilla
Professor of Humanities
Columbia University


George W. Breslauer
Faculty Director of the Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life and Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, Emeritus
University of California, Berkeley

E. Mark Cummings
Professor and Notre Dame Chair in Psychology
University of Notre Dame

Geoff Eley
Karl Pohrt Distinguished University Professor of Contemporary History
University of Michigan

Patrick Griffin
Madden-Hennebry Professor of History
University of Notre Dame

Adele Lindenmeyr
Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Professor of History
Villanova University


Karl Ameriks
McMahon-Hank Professor of Philosophy Emeritus
College of Arts and Letters, University of Notre Dame

John E. Hare
Noah Porter Professor of Philosophical Theology
Yale Divinity School, Yale University

Anne Lake Prescott
Senior Scholar and Emerita Helen Goodhart Altschul Professor of English
Barnard College, Columbia University

Ingrid Rowland
Professor of Architecture, University of Notre Dame Rome Global Gateway
School of Architecture, University of Notre Dame

Roger Scruton
Senior Fellow, Ethics & Public Policy Center in Washington, D.C.


Doris Bergen
Chancellor Rose and Ray Wolfe Professor of Holocaust Studies
University of Toronto

Archie Brown, CMG, FBA
Emeritus Professor of Politics, St Antony’s College
University of Oxford

Anna Grzymala-Busse
Michelle and Kevin Douglas Professor of International Studies
Stanford University

John Van Engen
Andrew V. Tackes Professor of Medieval History
University of Notre Dame

Michael Zuckert
Nancy R. Dreux Professor of Political Science
University of Notre Dame


Russell A. Berman
Walter A. Haas Professor in the Humanities
Stanford University

Thomas Elsaesser
Professor of Film and Television Studies Emeritus
University of Amsterdam

Jennifer Herdt
Gilbert L. Stark Professor of Christian Ethics
Yale Divinity School

Peter Holland
McMeel Family Chair in Shakespeare Studies
University of Notre Dame

Alasdair MacIntyre
Professor of Philosophy Emeritus
University of Notre Dame


Paolo Carozza
Professor of Law
Director of the Kellogg Institute for International Studies
University of Notre Dame

Harold James
Claude and Lore Kelly Professor in European Studies
Director, Program in Contemporary European Politics and Society
Princeton University

Jytte Klausen
Lawrence A. Wien Professor of International Cooperation
Brandeis University

Norman M. Naimark
Robert and Florence McDonnell Professor of Eastern European Studies
Director of the Division of International, Comparative, and Area Studies
Stanford University

Thomas F. X. Noble
Professor of History, Emeritus 
University of Notre Dame


Caryl Emerson
A. Watson Armour III University Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Princeton University

Don Howard
Professor of Philosophy
Director of the Reilly Center for Science, Technology, and Values
University of Notre Dame

Suzanne L. Marchand
Professor of History
Louisiana State University

Mark W. Roche
Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C. Professor of German Language and Literature
University of Notre Dame

Paul Woodruff
Professor of Philosophy
Inaugural Dean of the School of Undergraduate Studies
University of Texas at Austin


Nancy Bermeo
Nuffield Professor of Comparative Politics, Nuffield College
University of Oxford

Felipe Fernández-Armesto
William P. Reynolds Professor of History
University of Notre Dame

Laura Engelstein
Henry S. McNeil Professor of History
Yale University

James Sheehan
Dickason Professor in the Humanities, Emeritus
Stanford University

Catherine H. Zuckert
Nancy Reeves Dreux Professor of Political Science
University of Notre Dame


Piero Boitani
Professor of Comparative Literature
University of Rome, La Sapienza

Theodore J. Cachey, Jr.
Albert J. Ravarino Family Director of Dante and Italian Studies
Professor and Chair of the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
University of Notre Dame

Donald Crafton
Professor and Chair, Department of Film, Television & Theatre
University of Notre Dame

Margaret W. Ferguson
Professor of English
University of California, Davis

Christopher B. Fox
Professor of English
Director of the Keough-Naughton Institute for Irish Studies
University of Notre Dame