Faculty Committee

The Institute’s Faculty Committee consists of six tenured faculty members elected by the Fellows for a two-year term. Terms are staggered, as indicated below. Members meet with the Director and staff twice a semester and represent the interests and guidance of faculty.

Current Members (Terms ending in 2021)


Tobias Boes
Associate Professor of German


Theodore Cachey
Professor of Italian and the Albert J. and Helen M. Ravarino Family Director of Dante and Italian Studies


Clemens Sedmak
Professor of Social Ethics, Keough School of Global Affairs
Concurrent Professor, Theology and the Center for Social Concerns


Current Members (Terms ending in 2020)

Maurizio Albahari
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology and Concurrent Associate Professor, Keough School of Global Affairs

Ian Kuijt
Professor, Department of Anthropology

Susannah Monta
John Cardinal O'Hara, C.S.C., and Glynn Family Honors Associate Professor, Department of English

Recent Members (Terms ending in 2019)

John Deak
Associate Professor of European History, Department of History

Anne García-Romero (substitute)
Associate Professor of Film, Television, and Theatre 

Hildegund Müller 
Associate Professor, Department of Classics

Alison Rice
Associate Professor of French, Department of Romance Languages and Literatures