About the Prize

The Laura Shannon Prize

Carrying a cash prize of $10,000, the Laura Shannon Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best book in European studies that transcends a focus on any one country, state, or people to stimulate new ways of thinking about contemporary Europe as a whole.

Each year, the Laura Shannon Prize will be given for a book published in one of two alternating fields:

I. Humanities
Philosophy, Theology, Cultural Studies, Modern Languages and Literatures, and the Arts.

II. History & Social Sciences
History, Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Law, and Anthropology.


Nominations for the 2016 Humanities cycle (for books published in 2013 and 2014) closed on Friday, January 30, 2015.

Nominations for the 2017 History & Social Sciences cycle (for books published in 2014 and 2015) will take place August 2015 - January 2016.

To nominate a book, complete and submit the Laura Shannon Prize Application. Then, submit two (2) non-returnable copies of the nominated work by the stated deadline to the following address. (If books are delayed due to a warehouse or other unavoidable issue, the nomination will still be considered if a complete form is submitted prior to the deadline and if the books arrive within a reasonable time. Please contact the prize administrator for further details if you anticipate a delay.)

Nominations for the next Laura Shannon Prize (2017 History & Social Sciences cycle) for must be submitted by Friday, January 29, 2016 to:

The Laura Shannon Prize
The Nanovic Institute for European Studies
211 Brownson Hall
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556-5601 USA

Rules and Eligibility

Only single-author publications in English are eligible.

Books by current Notre Dame faculty members are not eligible for the Laura Shannon Prize at this time.

Authors may only win the Laura Shannon Prize once.

Books on single countries will be considered so long as they have clear implications for thinking about Europe as a whole.

Translations, anthologies, textbooks, self-published books, memoirs, fiction, poetry, screenplays, performances, posthumous works, books with multiple authors, and books published in previous editions are ineligible. Critical editions are eligible.

Publishers may nominate up to three (3) books per imprint for each year’s competition and are strongly encouraged to submit rationales, reviews, and other relevant information for each entry. Authors may nominate their own books. Each nomination should be submitted with a completed nomination form and two (2) non-returnable copies of the nominated work. The nominating publisher or author also agrees to submit an additional four (4) books upon request if the nomination makes it to a certain stage in the review process. Final proofs are acceptable.

For the 2016 Humanities cycle, we will only accept books published in 2013 and 2014.  Publication dates are determined by the date the book is published, not the copyright date printed in the book.

A nominated book shall qualify for the Laura Shannon Prize in Contemporary European Studies only if:

The author is informed that, if selected, he or she must present an original lecture at the University of Notre Dame and participate in events related to the award ceremony. The Nanovic Institute will provide the author with travel and accommodations. The lecture may also be published by the Nanovic Institute for European Studies.

The publisher or author agrees to submit an author’s photograph and biography and an image of the book cover, with permission to use them in promotional materials, if the author’s book makes the final short-list of books for the Laura Shannon Prize.

The publisher and author agree that the decisions of the Nanovic Institute for European Studies will be final as to all matters, including eligibility, timeliness, and compliance with procedures and selection criteria.


The winning book is selected by a jury of five eminent scholars in European studies, three of whom will be prominent scholars serving at institutions other than the University of Notre Dame. The jury will be announced along with the winner.

View the list of past jury members.

For questions relating to the application process, please contact:

Monica Caro
Manager of Operations
The Nanovic Institute for European Studies
University of Notre Dame
Phone: (574) 631-3547
Email: mcaro@nd.edu

Like us on Facebook  Join the Laura Shannon Prize on Facebook.