The Laura Shannon Prize

The Laura Shannon Prize In Contemporary European Studies

Carrying a cash prize of $10,000, the Laura Shannon Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best book in European studies that transcends a focus on any one country, state, or people to stimulate new ways of thinking about contemporary Europe as a whole.

The Nanovic Institute for European Studies at the University of Notre Dame is now accepting applications for the 2018 Humanities cycle for books published in 2015 and 2016.  Deadline is Tuesday, January 31, 2017.

About the prize

Apply now

The Books


The Juries

"All book prizes are important, but the Laura Shannon Prize stands out in several ways. First: the link to the Nanovic Institute connects it with one of the foremost centres for European Studies research in the Anglophone world, a research and teaching forum committed to interdisciplinary work across the humanities. Second: the Institute recruits its Laura Shannon Prize jurors from among the leading authorities in this field worldwide—the list of current and former jurors is extraordinarily impressive. And third: the Prize brings with it the lustre of the Nanovic’s relationship with the research-intense University of Notre Dame, where it serves as a coordinating hub for scholars and students working in a wide range of humanities disciplines from within and beyond the university campus. This prize enjoys high visibility across the USA and in the UK and has established itself as a major landmark in the world of humanities research and publishing."

Sir Christopher Clark
Regius Professor of History, Cambridge University